How to Recover photoshop .tmp file


On one hand, it seems that photoshop does indeed save a tmp file. On the other hand, its unlikely that I can recover it. So I look in the folder where I was trying to save the file and lo and behold I see a file named ~ps1F4.tmp – I’m still a little leary but what the heck it never hurts to try, right?

Back to Photoshop, File > Open, change the file’s extension from .tmp to .psd and click Open…

Wait for it…

Wait for it…

Hooray!
source here

http://sitedesignmagazine.com/dailies/photoshop-crashed-during-a-file-save-now-what/844

38 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Catarina on September 7, 2009 at 12:33 am

    this doesnt work

    i had a block of my system because i had messenger opened as well as photoshop which i was working in the liquify tool.

    the block passed and i saved the file, and was closing photoshop, but my pc was so slow i clicked on the hardware button to automatically restart

    NOW I OPENED MY PROJECT AND ITS A BIG BLACK PAGE WITH A RED LINE ON TOP

    SOMEONE HELP ME PLEASE!! i was working on that painting for a whole month!!!!

    i’m so screwed

    please please help me!

    Reply

    • Posted by Anonymous on January 29, 2013 at 7:26 pm

      Did u find any solution ? :( i lost the file too and the same problem!@@@@ :'(
      That was a very confidential painting i’ve done …. please reply

      Reply

    • Posted by Anonymous on February 23, 2013 at 1:44 pm

      Man, i have the exact same problem…just when i saved my computer got a blue screen and crashed. When i started the computer again and opened the psd, it was all black except for the red line at the top… and i had worked two entire days on the picture all the way up to 7 in the morning.

      Reply

  2. Posted by goyama 2003 on January 15, 2010 at 10:27 pm

    Thank you…

    I was working on a graphic for few days… after weeks of exercising with my new tablet.. and puff… tmp..

    Thank you very much, it worked for me

    Reply

  3. Posted by jeff on January 29, 2010 at 9:33 pm

    I cannot find my temp folder with photoshop. i was able to search for it and find it thru windows but cant open it from there.
    does anyone know how to locate and open the tmp file using photoshop??

    Reply

  4. Posted by martyn webb on April 16, 2010 at 5:33 pm

    thanks so fucking much!! your fucking actually useful!!!! YEEHAHAAA ¬¬!! :) X

    Reply

  5. Posted by nesh on July 11, 2010 at 2:54 pm

    Or you can Open As the .tmp file, it’s the same thing and more easier.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Anonymous on August 10, 2010 at 3:20 am

    thank you!!!

    Reply

  7. Posted by fff on October 30, 2010 at 1:34 am

    u stupid jew! this dhit doesnt work! go to hell!

    Reply

    • Fuck you and your fucking racial slurs!

      Reply

    • Posted by Island Jim on February 10, 2012 at 1:38 pm

      Seriously???
      You are a fucking embarrassment to the human race, you stupid, self-righteous, piece-of-shit, tool gobbler.

      Get that swastika tatooed on your forehead like you always wanted, so the rest of can recognize your igorance from a distance, you stupid, inbred fuck.

      I only hope that you were born sterile so your retarded genes don’t leave us with yet another generation of self-centred, uneducated fuckwads to continue dividing us all.

      Fucking idiot. I despise you and everything you think you stand for.

      Reply

    • u are a dummy, dummy. ha

      Reply

  8. Posted by blankfile on November 15, 2010 at 10:46 pm

    doesn’t work…

    Reply

  9. nice job, thank

    Reply

  10. Posted by Anonymous on November 23, 2011 at 1:04 pm

    people maybe forgetting to rename it to “.psd”
    it works.

    Reply

  11. Posted by Anonymous on March 13, 2012 at 2:39 am

    Tried that, opened up to a blank document..

    Reply

  12. Posted by Garry on May 20, 2012 at 4:29 am

    It didn’t work for me either. I tried opening it at first and and I got a screen error saying the file is in use, even though it’s not. Second after renaming the file to .psd it will not open the file(could not complete your request because it is not a valid format) for what ever reason I have no clue when this forum says it will work. Let alone once you change the format of the temp you are left with nothing because you aren’t able to change the file back. Basically this is a waste of time even when you want so desperately to get your lost file back.

    Reply

  13. Working under Windows 7, my temporary file was located under c:/Users/My_username/AppData/Roaming/Adobe/Adobe Photoshop cs6/AutoRecover

    Reply

  14. Posted by Anonymous on August 15, 2012 at 4:52 pm

    Thank you so much! :D

    Reply

  15. Posted by Anonymous on August 25, 2012 at 6:06 pm

    Worked for me and if it won’t i was really fucked up. Thanks a lot man !

    Reply

  16. Posted by Anonymous on September 19, 2012 at 2:41 am

    Man, whoevea, i was about to throw in tha towel, you saved my ass, the other help tells you to buy a recovery program, i spent 3hrs trying to recover my file, dug deep into the drive, asking for permission ect. Thx dude your a life saver.

    Reply

  17. Posted by shedy on October 16, 2012 at 4:41 pm

    oh yess thanks alot …really its amazing … :) best of luck

    Reply

  18. Posted by Anonymous on October 24, 2012 at 7:58 am

    Thanks so much. You just saved me 5 hrs and my sanity.

    Reply

  19. Posted by Anonymous on November 2, 2012 at 2:56 pm

    When I go to open the file the ‘new’ window pops up with the dimensions of the image but obviously when I clicked OK it was just a blank white image.

    Reply

    • Posted by rohit thakur on March 1, 2013 at 2:17 pm

      hey please show me the solution i am facing the same problem. My psd file also blanked its currupt.

      Reply

  20. Posted by Markel on November 17, 2012 at 7:18 pm

    Not working with my gentile ps. some zionist must have scrambled my temp files and taken their lands.

    Reply

  21. Posted by screwed on December 13, 2012 at 4:49 pm

    doesn’t work for me, asks for dimensions ad then a blank page… doomed!

    Reply

  22. This method is hit and miss, it all depends on the file size you were working on. I’ve been using this method all the way back to photoshop 5.5 and i’m using CS5 now. Sometimes you can recover it but most of the times not.

    For every 2-3 saves do 1 backup save. Or save jpeg steps of your work.[if your doing paintings like I do] You’ll only lose an extra hour of sleep making up the difference :)

    Reply

  23. Posted by Anonymous on March 22, 2013 at 11:51 pm

    Had the same problem, nothing of the above helpt me.
    I tried “Recuva” and it worked for me.

    Reply

  24. Posted by Anonymous on January 15, 2014 at 5:06 pm

    This method with ‘open as’ and change the file to ‘.psd’ doesn’t work also for me!

    Reply

  25. Posted by YorkNichols on May 27, 2014 at 10:42 pm

    Recovery Toolbox for Photoshop
    This plugin lets you grab image layers from any PSD/PSB file. It’s faster than opening the whole PSD in Photoshop, if you just want a layer. Most importantly, it can usually recover image layers from corrupted PSD files that Photoshop won’t open (if Photoshop opens with damage, this plugin recovers a more intact image). Beta version.
    FREE, $27 donation suggested if it saves your day/sanity/job.”

    Free demo version: http://www.photoshop.recoverytoolbox.com/

    Reply

  26. Pretty! This has been an incredibly wonderful post.
    Many thanks for supplying this information.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 191 other followers

